Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
People are more important than places
Derniers commentaires
6 août 2007

to kill a mockingturd

It's early. These last few days have been eventful.
I got up early on Friday to get to NUS by 9 am, but I was jetlagged and couldn't sleep Thursday night; so I was stuck in limbo all day. The meeting at NUS was crap, I wasn't in the mood for cheering and integrating, and the information given wasn't new. I was bored to the bone. The only compensation I got was a flashy orange bag.

When things got to their worse, a group of foreign students lead by a Singaporean came up front to talk about trips they're organizing. The trips sound like a lot of fun, but the funny part  was to see this small Singaporean guy saying "crap" all the time and talking about getting drunk. It was really off the conservative image given by all the previous people, and was completely opposed to the regular vision of Singapore. The guy was spanked by a supervisor from the ministry of censorship for acting so rude.
I also got lost in boon lay that day, it took me hours to get back. When I eventually did, I couldn’t sleep. Urrgh…

10:37 am. Somebody’s knocking on my door. A room-mate perhaps ? it is clear that I won’t stay alone in my flat forever. I wake up. The foreign students are going to a beach resort. I go too. We’re actually headed for an Island south of Singapore which is a massive artificial beach/leisure center. The name of the place is Sentosa beach resort… everybody talks about it here. Despite the oil tankers in the background and the non-Aryan crowd, it’s a very nice place.

I’m getting to know some of these people better; the Americans from Virginia are hilarious. They impersonated Midwestern peasants for a while. We then got tricked into going to the marina to check out the rehearsal for the national day parade that’ll take place on the 9th. The lure was a hypothetical 15 minute fireworks display. In the end we just stayed there watching the bay while nothing much happened and I eventually left with Wyatt. Cool guy.

100_5463

Back at BoonLay a Dutchman named Morten had arrived. He bought toilet paper. Cool guy.

Sunday. This is the beginning of a very long and eventful day. For some odd reason I decide to join the group going to the Botanic gardens. I ran over to the food court to get a green waffle and a redbull. For those who don’t know what a food court is it’s just an outdoor canteen with loads of little take-away restaurants. The first highlight of this day, as we move from food court to mall to milkshake parlor, was meeting a young woman named Florence. Hopefully we’ll see more of her before she leaves. It would be nice to think we had changed since I was 14, that relationships had gotten more sophisticated, people less cruel, skins thicker, and instincts more developed. But it appears we’re all just as clumsy, and I’m just as shy.

In the evening, the group being reduced to me, Camilo, Loic and Florence, we had a drink and then went on a ride dubbed “the ultimate bungee experience”. Our bodies suffered 4 Gs ; which was way worth 30 dollars. Loic and I had a great laugh, while Florence screamed her voice away (making it all the more worth our while). Video presently available.


That kind of wraps it up for these days. I’m now at the NUS computer center to apply for my modules. I’d like to sleep.

Publicité
Commentaires
S
Dude! <br /> <br /> Essaye pas de tout vomir dès les premiers jours !!<br /> Je vois que tout est cool pour toi pour l'instant...<br /> En tout cas reviens en forme pouir l'an prochain parce je manque déjà mon Varriero... Snif<br /> <br /> Sweet
Publicité