Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
People are more important than places
Derniers commentaires
18 août 2007

Parting

Remembering

There are threads of old sound heard over and over
phrases of Shakespeare or Mozart the slender
wands of the auroras playing out from them
into dark time the passing of a few
migrants high in the night far from the ancient flocks
far from the rest of the words far from the instruments

W.S. Merwin

Untitled_2

Farewell

Farerewell to thee! but not farewell
To all my fondest thoughts of thee:
      Within my heart they still shall dwell;
      And they shall cheer and comfort me.
      O, beautiful, and full of grace!
      If thou hadst never met mine eye,
      I had not dreamed a living face
      Could fancied charms so far outvie.
 
      If I may ne'er behold again
      That form and face so dear to me,
      Nor hear thy voice, still would I fain
      Preserve, for aye, their memory.
 
      That voice, the magic of whose tone
      Can wake an echo in my breast,
      Creating feelings that, alone,
      Can make my tranced spirit blest.
 
      That laughing eye, whose sunny beam
      My memory would not cherish less; -
      And oh, that smile! whose joyous gleam
      Nor mortal language can express.
 
      Adieu, but let me cherish, still,
      The hope with which I cannot part.
      Contempt may wound, and coldness chill,
      But still it lingers in my heart.
 
      And who can tell but Heaven, at last,
      May answer all my thousand prayers,
      And bid the future pay the past
    With joy for anguish, smiles for tears?

Anne Bronte

 
Publicité
Commentaires
F
A little tenderness... The "Farewell" poem is really beautiful. I don't know who may be the person concerned, but she must be very lucky :) I understand.
Publicité